In Praise of . . . The Ordinary

Every so often I will be subjecting you, dear readers, to a bit of fan-girling about products I really love.  A few weeks ago I regaled you with the wonders of Glossier (I am shortly to receive cloud paint, if my sister-in-law made it to Glossier HQ yesterday, so, fair warning: you may have a post dedicated to cloud paint in your futures).

This week I am turning my laser focus to one of my favourite of Deciem’s brands, The Ordinary.  Seeing as Deciem have recently opened a bricks and mortar within easy walking distance of my flat, it is as good a time as any.

The Ordinary create no nonsense, effective formulas with clear guidelines for use, including information regarding skin concerns and any contraindications.  Their brand tag is ‘Clinical Formulations with Integrity’, and I’d have to agree.  I have always been a bit wary of using actives, specifically how to incorporate them into my routine, but The Ordinary has made this very simple and for the gift of simplicity they have my undying affection and loyalty.  FYI, I intend to discuss my routine in greater detail next week, but if you’ve read any of my previous posts you are probably aware that I lean toward the pared down end of the spectrum, particularly considering the extremes one can find in, e.g., K-Beauty routines or holy-shit-I-saw this-when-I-googled-‘K-Beauty Routine’-and-had-to-share: Leonardo DiCaprio’s (alleged!!) routine.  I say this now, not having this sort of cash to spunk up the wall, but, if I had that much money to spend on beauty each month I still don’t think I’d do it.  I would, however, have a serious active wear habit (I know, I sort of hate me too).

Anyway, The Ordinary.  Their formulas are fab, their actives are. . . active, and their prices are fantastic – it really is honest and transparent skincare.  These are not the most ‘clean’ in my beauty routine, but as I discussed a few posts back, I tend to strike a balance between cost, effectiveness and cleanliness.  I did a completely unscientific search on the ingredients though, and none of them terrified me.

So, without further ado, the below are my go-tos from The Ordinary:

100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil

This is my favourite oil – it absorbs nicely, isn’t sticky or slick, and seems to calm my skin while giving a boost to my moisturiser, which I’ve actually begun applying after the oil.  I think this is blasphemous and runs counter to common knowledge, but it feels right and my skin seems to like it.

Advanced Retinoid 2%

I’ve recently begun using this.  I am an acne prone wimp so I am starting very slowly.  Once per week for two weeks, twice per week for two weeks etc etc ad nauseam until we reach seven days a week.  Though this retinoid has been formulated to avoid the common irritation experienced with retinol, I am taking no risks.  I do love it though – on the nights I use it my products sink in better and my skin looks great the next day.

Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%

I have hyper pigmentation as a result of acne and, while the frequency of spot appearance has significantly slowed, I am prone to blemishes of various descriptions.  I use niacinamide in the mornings on alternating days with the vitamin c below, as niacinamide can adversely affect the stability of vitamin c.  It seems to be a good work horse and I have seen an improvement in pigmentation and duration of spots.  I think this is a fairly unglamorous but ultimately effective element of my routine.

Vitamin C Suspension 23% + HA Spheres 2%

This is the best vitamin c product I have tried.  It has a funny wet but powdery texture which some people might find off-putting, but I actually think it is quite pleasant to use.  I apply it in the morning to boost my SPF, and by the evening I notice a visible change in my skin’s texture and brightness.

Lactic Acid 5% + HA Spheres 2% 

This is a brilliant, gentle, every evening exfoliator for me.  Currently I do not use it on the same evenings as the Advanced Retinoid 2%,  however from a bit of research I note that it is fine to do so, and I will be working these two into my routine together as I get more au fait with the Advanced Retinoid 2%.

And, the items I want to try:

100% Plant-Derived Squalane 

My skin has been feeling a bit dry by lunch time recently and I think this will be a good morning addition to give my moisturiser a boost without having to turn to a heavier cream.  It’s (maybe?!) totally irrational, but I am convinced pollution sticks to my face if I use a heavy cream in the day time.

Azeliac Acid Suspension 10%

This looks super interesting and possibly a good addition for my skin, but I am not certain where it would go or what I would swap out in the name of experimentation.

Obviously, I’ll just have to take a walk over to Lamb Lane to have a chat.  Because now I can.

Leave a Reply

